TEAM

Werner Staufer

Werner Staufer

Dipl.-Ing., Patent Attorney

Werner Staufer studied mechanical engineering at Ruhr University Bochum from 1989 to 1994. As part of this degree, he started looking at the use of CAD and FEM systems in the early 1990s. After his degree, he worked in the automotive sector as a self-employed designer for renowned companies such as EDAG, YMOS, VALEO, PSW and AUDI, focusing on the development of interior components such as door cladding, vehicle seats, center consoles, and locking systems. In the process of training to become a German Patent Attorney, he completed parts of his training at a renowned West German office of patent attorneys, the German Patent and Trade Mark Office, and the Federal Court in Munich, and was admitted as a German Patent Attorney in 2003. Up until 2008, Mr. Staufer was employed at a South German law office and KNH Patent Attorneys in Düsseldorf. During this time he focused heavily on exhaust gas after-treatment systems and spinning machines. From 2008 to 2012, he worked in industry as the Head of the Patent Department at MAN Truck & Bus and then, until 2019, as Head of the Patent Department of a leading company in the sanitary sector. Since 2019, he has been deploying his many years of industry experience at KARO IP.

Main focus

Creating patent registrations, executing patent-granting procedures in Germany and Europe, supporting foreign patent-granting procedures, preparation and execution of objections to German patents, support for patent departments relating to questions of competition monitoring, inventor royalties, identification of inventions, IP strategy, creation of expert reports relating to validity and breach of patents, advice in the development of strategies for trademark rights, support for clients in patent violation proceedings and the execution of patent invalidity proceedings, advice and support for trademark and design registrations including advice in matters relating to trademark disputes

Technical focus

Automotive engineering for passenger and commercial vehicles, in particular the interior, vehicle seats, locking systems, drive components such as the transmission, couplings and links, as well as exhaust gas after-treatment systems; locks and locking systems; sanitary fittings of all types, and textile and spinning technology

Email: staufer@karo-ip.de | Mailform
Phone: +49 211 976 356 0

Curriculum Vitae (pdf, 106.1 KByte)

TEAM

Werner Staufer

Werner Staufer

Dipl.-Ing., Patentanwalt

Werner Staufer studierte von 1989 bis 1994 Maschinenbau an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Im Rahmen dieses Studium beschäftigte sich bereits seit den frühen 90er Jahren mit dem Einsatz von CAD- und FEM-Systemen. Im Anschluss an sein Studium war er im Bereich Automotive als selbständiger Konstrukteur für namhafte Unternehmen, wie EDAG, YMOS, VALEO, PSW und AUDI mit der Entwicklung von Interieur – Komponenten, wie Türverkleidungen, Fahrzeugsitze, Mittelkonsolen und Schließsystemen tätig. Im Rahmen der Ausbildung zum deutschen Patentanwalt durchlief er die Ausbildungsabschnitte in einer renommierten westdeutschen Patentanwaltskanzlei, beim Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt sowie beim Bundespatentgericht in München und wurde im Jahr 2003 als deutscher Patentanwalt zugelassen. In der Zeit bis 2008 war Herr Staufer als Mitarbeiter für eine süddeutschen Kanzlei und KNH Patentanwälte in Düsseldorf tätig. Während dieser Zeit beschäftigte er sich intensiv mit Abgasnachbehandlungssystemen und Spinnereimaschinen. Von 2008 bis 2012 war er in der Industrie als Leiter der Patentabteilung der MAN Truck & Bus und im Anschluss daran bis 2019 als Leiter der Patentabteilung eines führenden Unternehmens im Sanitärbereich tätig. Seit 2019 bringt er seine langjährige Industrieerfahrung bei KARO IP ein.

Schwerpunkte

Erstellung von Patentanmeldungen, Durchführung von Patenterteilungsverfahren in Deutschland und Europa, Betreuung von ausländischen Patenterteilungsverfahren, Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Einsprüchen gegen Deutsche Patente, Unterstützung von Patentabteilungen bei Fragen der Wettbewerbsüberwachung, Erfindervergütung, Identifikation von Erfindungen, IP-Strategie, Erstellung von Gutachten zur Rechtsbeständigkeit und zur Verletzung von Patenten, Beratung bei der Entwicklung von Schutzrechtsstrategien, Beratung von Mandanten in Patentverletzungsverfahren und Durchführung von Patentnichtigkeitsverfahren, Beratung und Betreuung von Marken und Designanmeldungen inklusive Beratung in Markenstreitsachen

Technische Schwerpunkte

Automobiltechnik für Personen- und Nutzfahrzeuge, insbesondere Interieur, Fahrzeugsitze, Schließsysteme, Antriebskomponenten wie Getriebe, Kupplungen und Gelenke, sowie Abgasnachbehandlungssysteme; Schlösser und Schließsysteme; Sanitärarmaturen aller Art, Textil- und Spinnereitechnik

Email: staufer@karo-ip.de | Mailformular
Telefon: +49 211 976 356 0

Lebenslauf (pdf, 106.0 KByte)